Posted in Ramblings

Introductions are weird

I’m really bad at writing “About Me” posts. It seems like an exercise in shameless self-promotion, and turns out more cringe-worthy than an episode of The Bachelor.

Damn it. I’ve had a blog for two seconds and I’ve already mentioned The Bachelor. We’re off to a fantastic start.

img_1063
Combining my three favorite things: running 5k races, food, and dressing up like a fool

Despite my aversion to awkward introductions, I figure that I need to write a proper post welcoming readers to the site and giving y’all an idea of what’s going on here. Primarily, this website is a way for me to share my love of (read: obsession with) running, my passion for cooking, and random thoughts on life. Secondly, and probably more importantly, it’s a requirement for my journalism course to make semi-regular posts. This allows me to be a student-athlete, and therefore support my continued love of (read: obsession with) running.

“But Molly,” you may ask, “why the hell do you think anyone would be interested in reading your incoherent ramblings about track, food, and inane life details?”

I know, I can’t believe how conceited it sounds that I’d assume anyone would be interested in this. But I figure that some people might actually share some of my same obsessions, or at least can relate to the struggles of being a college athlete/ADHD running nerd/aspiring-yet-certainly-not-pintrest-worthy chef. Besides, I love writing and will do this whether or not anyone actually reads this. So if you’re here then we’re both buckling in for this wild ride.

If you’ve managed to hang on this long, I’ll throw in some quick fun facts about me. I grew up in a mildy-rural Wisconsin town, went to an egregiously small school (like, graduating class of 13 small), and am currently a track student-athlete at the University of Notre Dame. I graduated with a major in Biological Anthropology/minor in Sustainability Studies, and if one more person asks what the hell I’ll do with that degree I’ll respond by promptly slapping their smarmy face with my diploma. Sorry for the violent language, but I love Anthro and will defend my “Liberal Arts & Crafts” degree against haughty pre-meds and engineers any day of the week.

img_1593
There’s nothing you can’t do with a “Liberal Arts & Crafts” degree

Additional fun facts… I’m addicted to coffee and tea. My favorite color is blue. I have a terrible fear of woodchucks. I play the ukulele, the accordion, the piano, and the banjo. And I have a cat named Mr. Banx who will probably make an occasional appearance on this blog.

Thanks for hanging in there on this awkward first post. Fingers crossed I’ll get better with practice, and just remember my favorite L. Fleshman quote….

“EMBRACE THE SUCK”.

Leave a Reply

